College · DIY Projects

DIY Dorm Room (Part 1)

It’s that time of the year… all of the high schools are preparing for graduation, the stores are filled with graduation cards and the senior students are wrapping up their final weeks of their high school educations. The next biggest thing on the senior’s minds (besides final exams, graduation and summer) is definitely attending college in the fall. While moving away for college can be pretty nerve-wrecking, it is as super exciting because you finally get to decorate your dorm room! For me, I know that this was one of the most exciting parts of becoming a college student.

In the next couple of months leading up to move in day in the fall, I am going to post some of the DIY arts and crafts projects I made for my dorm room!

Today’s DIY Project is: a motivational pin board made from the cards you received at graduation

What better way to reuse the cards given to you at graduation! Besides, cards are pretty expensive.

Materials:

  • 1 Pin/ Tack Board (I got mine at Target)
  • Graduation Cards
  • Scissors
  • Tacks

Step 1:

IMG_3072
Make sure you save all your cards for this project!

At my graduation party and on graduation day I received a whole bunch of cards. I saved all my cards over the summer and wondered what I could do with them other than simply toss them in the trash. That’s when I came up with this cute little idea to decorate my dorm room! Make sure you save all of your cards for this project!

 

Step 2:

Decide which cards you want to cut up and which cards you don’t want to cut up. For me, I wanted to keep the cards from my mom, dad and siblings in one piece and save because they had more sentimental value to me, even though I haven’t looked at them since! I also decided which parts of the cards I wanted to cut. I picked places that didn’t ruin the words written by my family members on the inside, but ultimately it’s up to you what you would like on your board!

Step 3:

Cut out the cards! If you have a lot of cards, like I did, make sure you cut out smaller sections cards to be able to fit them onto the board nicely. Also try to somewhat vary the colors of the cards, just to have more of a variety of colors for the collage.

Step 4:

Arrange the cut out cards onto the board in a way that fits and looks nice. You may have to rearrange it a couple of times to make it look how you want it. Be patient!

Step 5:

Simply push the tacks into the card pieces and onto the board!

And there you have it! A motivational pin board for you dorm in the fall made from all the cards you receive from graduation (or really any occasion you wish!)

IMG_3313

Comment a picture of your finished product! Good luck!

2 thoughts on “DIY Dorm Room (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

