An Open Letter To.... · Life's Milestones · Relationships

Dear Future Husband

Dear Future Husband,

Hi. It’s your wife. I hope you’re doing well and not doing anything stupid to mess up our future. I think about you a lot. I wonder what you look like, what your voice is going to sound like, what your personality will be like… One thing I know for sure is that you’re going to be perfect for me. I bet you’re really funny and you’ll make me laugh all the time. I also bet that you’re really handsome. We will have beautiful children (that I’ve already named. Hope you don’t mind). I can’t wait to see you as a father. My family will love you. I’m sure you’ll fit right in with all the goofiness. I hope my best friends will love you. They probably will because I don’t want to be with anybody my friends hate. My best friends are very protective of me. They will like you but if you do anything to hurt me…just watch out. But you’ll be perfect so I wouldn’t worry about it. I can’t wait for movie nights together at home. Let me pick out the movie every once in a while, okay? It will probably be a Disney movie or a chick flick and I’m not at all sorry. But I do hope you love Disney as much as I do. That’s very important. We will probably go to Disney World for our honeymoon. Our wedding will be beautiful. Not only because of the decorations and me, it will be beautiful because of the love we share. I’m so excited for that day. You’ll quickly learn that I’m a little high maintenance. I like things a certain way. I have my little quirks just like everyone else. But I hope you learn to love them all just like I hope to love all of your little quirks. I’m sure we will annoy each other a lot. But that’s normal! I want to annoy you for the rest of my life. I can’t wait for all the little adventures we will go on together. All the vacations and even the disastrous vacations that we will look back and laugh at. I can’t wait for the mini adventures like going hiking at Old Man’s Cave or going to the Columbus Zoo or the Cincinnati Zoo that I will make you take me to because of the sloth they have there. I hope you accept my sloth obsession. It’s a little ridiculous but whatever. I can’t wait to go to sleep and wake up next to you every morning. I’ll try to make you breakfast most mornings. But I love sleeping in as long as possible and I also can’t cook. But I’ll learn to cook! We definitely have to cook dinner together sometimes. I’ve always thought that would be fun. I promise to try and clean up my messes. You might have to be the clean freak in the relationship because I tend to be a bit messy, sorry. I’m sorry this letter is all over the place. I’m really just writing down whatever comes to mind. You don’t know me, and I don’t know you. Or maybe we do know each other and haven’t realized it yet. But I love you and I can’t wait to meet you. God has the perfect timing.
Love, Your Future Wife.

Leave a Reply

