Life's Milestones · Relationships

6 Things My Ex Taught Me

We all have that one ex who we totally regret going out with. I definitely do. But thinking about it, I realized that it taught me a few things. Here’s what they are.

1. To love myself

I’ve definitely began to love myself more. I’ve never had an issue with low self esteem. But after the break-up, I became more self aware of how beautiful and great I am. I wasn’t going to let some boy tear my down. I don’t need him in order for me to feel good about myself.  I’m not trying to sound arrogant, but I think it’s important to love yourself! I’ve never felt more attractive and fierce than I do now.

2. What I want in my future husband

My ex had some good qualities but also a lot of bad qualities. When I start being interested in a guy, I look for the bad qualities that my ex had. Now, I know nobody is perfect. I just don’t want someone like my ex. He taught me I deserve better and to never settle for less.

3. To never let any guy talk me into anything I’m not comfortable with

My ex was very manipulative. I had my set of limitations and he would always beg and find a way to get what he wants. So I learned to never give in and stand my ground. If he’s a good man, he will respect you and won’t try and make you do anything.

4. To be more independent

We were long distance so I traveled a lot by myself. Flew all over the place by myself (including Alaska) and drove to South Carolina by myself. So I guess that’s one good thing about being with him. But I’m also talking about not being dependent on him. This goes back to the first point. I don’t need to depend on a boy to be happy.

5. To trust my gut instinct 

There were a lot of times in the relationship where I had this certain feeling or thought that he did something he shouldn’t have. I would always be like “no, he wouldn’t do that” and then I eventually find out I was right. So now, when I’m with a guy, I know to trust my feelings and confront him. You just never know!

6. To love others more

I had so much love for my ex at one point. So what was I going to do with all that love after the break up? Give it to my friends and family! I’ve never loved or appreciated them so much before. I’m grateful everyday for each of them. My family is amazing. My friends are the best. They all show how much they love me everyday. I don’t mind being single when I have them. But I do look forward to meeting the man I’m supposed to marry.

2 thoughts on “6 Things My Ex Taught Me

Leave a Reply

