Funny · Jobs · Life's Milestones

Work, Work, Work, Work, Work

((Yes the title is from Rihanna’s song))

Yesterday was my first day at my first real job. The first day on a new job is pretty nerve wracking to be completely honest. You feel pretty lost and confused since you’re in a place where you don’t know what to do yet. Anyways, in honor of my first real job beginning I wanted to write a blog with my thoughts at work throughout the day. Disclaimer: this could take some funny turns.

The day before:

  • I work tomorrow…
  • Yay! Money!
  • I’m so excited!

Two hours before the shift starts:

  • LOL I have a job.
  • I don’t want to go to work.
  • But my bed? And Netflix?
  • Why do I have to wear this uniform?
  • Why do I need to have a job again?
  • Oh right, college loans.

Getting ready:

  • I’m so excited!
  • I love people!
  • Yay! Money! (again)
  • This uniform isn’t that bad, I guess.
  • Do I have everything?
  • Don’t be late!
  • Am I forgetting anything?
  • Can’t be late!
  • Where is my badge?
  • CAR CAR CAR CAR CAR.
  • Of course, traffic.
  • These people do not know how to drive.
  • I hate people.

Arriving at work:

  • Must sign in on time.
  • Where do I go?
  • Oh, hi coworkers.
  • Definitely forgot something.
  • But what?
  • Oh well. I’m sure it’s not important.

Beginning of the shift:

  • ENERGY.
  • WHY DO I HAVE SO MUCH ENERGY.
  • I can’t wait to have customers.
  • WORK
  • Wait, how does the machine work again?
  • Oh gosh, I forget where everything is.
  • WORK
  • I forget my pin code, again.
  • I should really memorize that.
  • WORK
  • Must clean everything.
  • Spotless. Customers are coming soon.

Middle of the shift:

  • The busy time is over, I hope.
  • WORK
  • I hate people so much.
  • WORK
  • I’m glad I remember where everything is now.
  • WORK
  • Be efficient.
  • WORK
  • ALMOST DONE I PROMISE.

Almost the end of the shift:

  • I really hate people.
  • Wow, I’m tired.
  • Tip me. Please.
  • And hungry.
  • THAT’S WHAT I FORGOT. I guess it was important.
  • Yay, more customers.
  • Tips much appreciated.
  • THE BUSY TIME WAS NOT OVER.
  • I REPEAT THE BUSY TIME WAS NOT OVER.
  • Legs. Jello. Can’t move.
  • Jello? OMG FOOD.
  • When is this day over?
  • I’m going to quit.

End of the shift:

  • Last customer of the day, whoop whoop!
  • Quick, lock the doors before they see us.
  • Can I leave now?
  • I don’t want to clean up.
  • I declare death by work.
  • CAR CAR CAR CAR CAR
  • I really really hate people.

Driving home:

  • At least I don’t have to work tomorrow.
  • Sleeping in is going to be wonderful.
  • Oh how I miss my bed.
  • Can this person in front of me go any slower.
  • Of course, traffic.

At home:

  • I’m so tired.
  • I’m so hungry.
  • Bed.
  • Sleep.
  • Netflix.
  • Food.
  • Heaven.
  • Happiness.
  • I’m never going back to that place.

A couple hours later: (& a good rest)

  • This job really isn’t that bad.
  • I actually enjoyed working today.
  • Maybe I won’t quit.
  • Well, I couldn’t afford to anyways…
  • I don’t have to work tomorrow.
  • I feel like I’m forgetting something?
  • Wait, what day is it today?
  • Oh, I guess I am working tomorrow.
  • Yay! Money!

It really is just an endless cycle isn’t it……

One thought on “Work, Work, Work, Work, Work

Leave a Reply

