An Open Letter To.... · Family

An Open Letter to my Brother as he gets Married

To My Big Brother,

Today is the long awaited day that you will be marrying the love of your life.

Today is the first day of your forever together and I could not be any more happy for you.

You’ve had more than your fair share of difficult times and rough relationships. It is because of these rough times that I look up to you. You never ceased to stop being the wonderful person you are despite the hardest of times. You have been there for me through everything, literally since the day I was born. I want to thank you for being the best big brother any little sister could hope for.

Being a big brother, I know there was a lot of stress on you to be someone I would look up to, and trust me, I do. Not only have you been one of my biggest supporters in life but you have also been one of my best friends. You have always encouraged me to do my best and be the best person I could possibly be.

Throughout the past nineteen years of my life, you have always managed to be there for me no matter what or where you were in your life, which was obviously much different than anything I could understand since you’re older. I wanted to take a moment to thank you for this and thank you for being there for me twenty-four seven.

Back to today. Here it goes in the books, another successful marriage that began from a dating website. 

Today is the first day of the rest of your life. When you first introduced the family to her, I could tell by the look in your eyes that she was going to be something special. I’ve had the privilege to watch you experience your dating years throughout high school and college. But this? This was something different, I knew that she was the one for you not long after you started dating. She fits so well with you and you both have similar lifestyles.

I can tell that you are finally truly happy with your life simply by the way you look at her and treat her. I can only hope that one day in the far away future that I will be able to find a man who treats me as you treat her. I am so happy for you that you have at last found the woman you want to spend your life with.

I have been waiting for this day all year since you proposed. I am so honored to be in your wedding and can’t wait to share the love with you on your wedding day.  

I love you, Big Brother

Your Little Sister

7 thoughts on “An Open Letter to my Brother as he gets Married

Leave a Reply

