Funny · life · Our Thoughts

Thoughts of an introvert

Hi. I’m Squishy. (People say in unison – “Hiiii squishy”) I am an introvert. I have been an introvert for the past 20 years. Some say it’s because I was home schooled. I say it’s because people suck. I feel like more and more people are becoming introverted. Some, I believe, are introverts because it’s the “cool” thing to do because they’re conforming to today’s introverted society. I don’t mean to brag, but I was introverted before it was “cool”. So, I’m going to list some of the things that us introverts go through in our daily lives.

1. Needing alone time after being social

I always feel mentally exhausted after (and sometimes during) being social. Being social is fun sometimes, I just can only handle so much at a time. It always feels nice to get into bed and relax and calm your brain.

2. People thinking you’re rude

I’m just a naturally quiet person. Some people assume I’m rude because I don’t talk much. There’s nothing wrong with just observing! If I have nothing to say, why talk? I’m not going to talk just to talk and have random crap come out of my mouth. Sue me. People also might think I’m rude personally because I have major RBF. Oops.

3. Being happy when plans get canceled

I feel bad for feeling this way sometimes. There are just some days when I need to be by myself and Netflix.

4. Being too afraid or shy to do things

Sometimes I let my shyness or whatever get in the way of things. As most of you know, I work at a jewelry store. I could probably be a lot better sales person if I was more outgoing and had more people skills. But it’s just not who I am. I have to make phone calls and they’re always a mess.

5. Instantly regretting making plans

We’ve all been there. I sometimes ask myself “why did I just do that? ABORT ABORT ABORT”. But then, I usually end up having fun with whatever plans I made.

6. Wanting to be alone but not lonely

I hope this makes sense to most of you. I love being alone but I like knowing that I have people who are there for me whenever.

 
Please don’t think I hate being around people all the time. I do enjoy spending time with family and friends. I just enjoy my quiet and alone time!

P.S. Shout out to my boyfriend for understanding that I need my alone time and not getting upset at me about it. You’re the best.


3 thoughts on “Thoughts of an introvert

  1. I identify as an ambivert so I’m definitely able to relate to some of these points, especially the one that discusses people thinking you’re rude!! like oh my goodness, no I don’t hate you, I’m just too awkward and shy to say anything! Anyways, this post is lovely, thank you for sharing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

