College · Life's Milestones

Since going to college…

This past year, I became a freshman in college. A lot has changed in just a short eight months and time has definitely passed by way too quickly. Simultaneously, I feel as though I have accomplished and grown so much in this short time span. Here are some of the things I have notices that changed after my first year in college.

Since going to college… I have become more independent. I always have been more of an independent person, but being away from my parents I could only rely on myself.

Since going to college… I have come out of my shell (a lot) more. Since I was little, I’ve always been a quiet person, shy as they call it. But on campus it seems that I am a completely different person than I was growing up, which isn’t a bad thing.

Since going to college… I have made so many new friends. I struggled with friends in high school so when it came to college I was pretty nervous about making friends that actually treated me well. But it turns out, thankfully, that most of the people you met in college are grown up and mature, unlike high school friends.

Since going to college… I have learned how to manage a busy schedule. Let’s be real, this is the first time you ever have to worry about school, eating three times a day and doing your laundry. Multitasking is definitely a skill that you’ll need in the future.

Since going to college… I have strived to do well in all my classes. I was warned that college courses are a bit harder than high school courses are, so I made sure I was well prepared for all of my exams, which paid off in the end when I made the Dean’s List all year!

Since going to college… I have gotten involved and tried many new things. I’ve always been apprehensive to try new things or get involved in a group where I didn’t know anyone. In college, I pushed myself to get involved and try new things.

Since going to college… I have become less of a picky eater. Dining food isn’t always the greatest and before coming to college I didn’t eat many foods. But the dining halls don’t cater to each person so, I had to try the food they had available to me.

Since going to college… I have become more of an adult. I am typically a responsible, trust-worthy person, but when I say I have become more of an adult I mean that I have learned how to manage my own time, and do it wisely.

Lastly,

Since going to college… I have found my second home.¬†Being on my own was originally a scary thought for me. But I know now that I have found my second home on campus. I also know that I am where I am supposed to be, doing what I am destined to do.

Leave a Reply

