C & C · date · dating · Relationships

Simple happinesses

Today’s blog though isn’t exactly specifically my relationship, but something that I have come to learn about happiness as a result of it.

I wanted to start this blog off with a little quote,

“I think we like to complicate things when it is really quite simple; find what it is that makes you happy and who it is that makes you happy and you’re set”. -Unknown

The reason I picked this quote in particular is because today I wanted to talk about happiness. Not really just happiness as a whole, but simple happiness. 

Not really sure what that means? No worries, if you don’t quite understand now I’m sure you will by the end. It’s really a “simple” concept. See what I did there?

Happy is really a pretty simple definition actually. From the dictionary,

hap·py   ˈhapē/

adjective

 1. feeling or showing pleasure or contentment.

Happiness however? It’s kind of more complex, although the definition doesn’t really show its complexity.

hap·pi·ness   ˈhapēnəs/

noun

noun: happiness; plural noun: happinesses

1. the state of being happy.

The reason I say it is more complex is because there are countless things that can make you happy. It could be your family, friends, pets, significant other and so on. The list is endless. The problem is that we don’t realize all of the things that make us happy because most of them are so simple. These simple happinesses get lost in a sea of reasons that you are unhappy. This is because people tend to focus more on the negatives in life instead of the positives. So today, I want to talk about the positive, simple happinesses you can find in your life.

What are some of these simple happinesses that I am talking about? To list some of the many my relationship has come to show me,

I have found happiness in his touch, his voice, his smile. The way he takes my hand and kisses it. How he makes the perfect cuddling partner.

I have found happiness in spending time together, no matter how short it may be. The way he comes to see me after a long day of work. How he acts when he’s super duper tired.

I have found happiness in the way I look at him and the way he looks back at me. How he squeezes me, just because he can. The way that he comes up behind me and hugs or kisses me.

I have found happiness in doing new things and exploring new places together. The way he thinks he knows where we are, when actually we are pretty lost in the woods. And how he won’t admit we’re lost.

I have found happiness in the way he holds me. The cute little things he does for me, like carry me over puddles so my shoes don’t get wet. 

I have found happiness driving around in his car singing as loud as we can. How he reminds me to take cheesy pictures, but still makes fun of how cheesy they may be.

I have found happiness in simple trips to the grocery stores, or going to a shopping mall just to look around. The way that he carefully picks out everything he buys.

I have found happiness in practically everything since I have started dating him. The way that we can enjoy anything we do simply because we love being together. 

I have found happiness in him. 

This is where the quote I started off with comes into play. Find what it is that makes you happy. For me, this would have to be all of these simple happinesses in little things that I’ve found in my relationship with him. Find who it is that makes you happy. Although obvious, for me, the one who makes me happy would be my wonderful boyfriend. When I am with him, nothing else in the world exists.

My point with this blog is not to get caught up in all the bad things happening all the time. Instead, go out and do something that makes you realize how beautiful life is. Enjoy every second that you possibly can because you surely don’t get to go back in time to do it over. Never take someone, or something, that makes you happy for granted because it could be gone in an instant.

Mostly, the things I found that made me happy were ones that you just don’t look at in the big septum of life, but you should. Every little, simple thing adds up on the list to make you realize what an amazing day you had looking back. Focus on the things that make you happy and you’ll be set.

Happy eight months to my incredible boyfriend❤️ I can’t imagine where I’d be if I never met you. Thank you for being your wonderful self and never ceasing to make me smile and laugh. 

Leave a Reply

