advice · high school · life

8 things high school taught me

High school is said to be the “best years of your life” but mine for sure was not anywhere close to this. High school is said to be where you form your best friendships,  but barely any of the people I talked to in high school talk to me today. Life goes on and honestly, high school ends up being a time of your life that just was there. Even though my high school years were torture, I learned so much and took away a lot of positives from my negative experiences.

Here are 8 things that high school taught me…

  1. To focus on the important things, which were my grades. Needless to say, I underwent a ton of high school drama. I didn’t want to waste time dealing with drama when the only thing that was going to affect me in the long run were my grades. Your friends and social class in high school don’t at all play a factor when you are applying to colleges. No type of drama or bullying is worth risking your future education for.
  2. To get involved. In my case, I didn’t really realize how important being involved in other groups were until my senior year. All my friends were talking about the clubs they were involved in and because of their involvement, they had more to write on college applications, experiences to write about for college essays and so on. Getting involved in other groups or organizations can only benefit you in the future.
  3. Not to let anyone hold you back from what you want to do. After some high school drama, I was told to not be involved in the groups I was in because my “friends” were in them and it could cause more drama again. I listened, again, being involved I later realized was so so so important for my future. I decided after this that I would never agin let someone dictate to me what I can and cannot do in my life, after all, it is exactly that, mine.
  4. The importance of meeting new people. By new people, I mean not just being friends with your four best friends like I did for my entire (middle and) high school careers. You should go out and make other friends who aren’t exactly friends with your other friends. Having a diverse group of friends is great because every has different hobbies or opinions. While your close friends may not have all the same interests as you, people you meet in other groups might.
  5. How to plan ahead of time and be prepared. In high school, I was a part of a couple of different clubs in and out of school. With this I also managed working after school babysitting everyday and finding time somewhere in the middle to complete all my homework. Now being a college student, learning how to manage my time effectively in high school has helped me so much to manage my involvement, work, homework and not to mention, laundry, eating schedule and sleeping patterns in college.
  6. Rumors and drama are unavoidable and happen at any age throughout life. For whatever reason, people LOVE drama. They all say it ends after high school, and while these are probably the worst years for drama, it is really never ending. With that being said, it’s pretty important that you come to the realization that drama is literally unavoidable. You can not make everyone happy. And yes, it’ll be unavoidable  for the rest of our lives.
  7. Procrastination is dangerous. I like to say that procrastination is my talent. Everyone procrastinates the things that they have to do. But eventually, you will have to learn that putting everything off until the last minute is dangerous. And by dangerous I mean stressful.
  8. How to be myself and how to be happy with who I am. The biggest thing that I took away from my high school years was that not everyone is going to want to be your friend. Not everyone is going to treat you nicely or get along with you. You have to kind of take this with a grain of salt. As long as YOU love yourself and who you are, then you should be happy with who you are. Don’t depend on other people’s opinions of you to be happy with the person that you are.

In the beginning of this blog I mentioned that my high school years weren’t particularly great. I hope that for the rest of you, you didn’t have any similar situations and experiences to the ones that I had. With that being said, despite having difficult high school years, I wasn’t at all stopped from learning some very valuable lessons and finding out who the person I wanted to be was probably one of the most important.

Also don’t forget to check out last week’s blog 15 things they should teach in high school (but don’t)

Leave a Reply

