Family

Welcome to the World

THIS IS NOT A DRILL.

I REPEAT THIS IS NOT A DRILL.

My brother and his wife have been expecting a baby and today might be the day that he enters this wonderful world! Will he be born on Halloween? We will see!

So in the spirit of welcoming my fifth nephew into the world within the next probably 24 hours…

5 things that I love about being an aunt.

  1. There’s always someone to make you smile.
    • My nephews are so silly and never fail to make me laugh and smile. They shake their booty or make funny faces that you can’t help but love. A baby smiling and laughing at you will never fail to make you smile. You can never go wrong with some cuddles.
  2. They make you feel like a kid again. 
    • I use them as an excuse to go trick or treating, since it isn’t acceptable for nineteen year olds to do so. They make me pretend to be ninja turtles or dinosaurs that run around the house roaring. Because you can’t get away with doing these things alone.
  3. You have a buddy for life. 
    • Well at least until they start believing that you have cooties anyways. I’m a young aunt and being so young I feel brings me closer to my nephews. I get to be the fun aunt that plays and runs around with them. My nephews always ask me to have sleepovers with them at their house.
  4. You can spoil them.
    • Lets be real, every auntie has purchased a onesie that says “Cool like my Auntie” or “I love my Aunt”. Why? Just because you can. It probably literally in the job description of being an aunt to be honest.
  5. You get the best hugs. 
    • Again, assuming that they don’t think you have cooties. In any other case, all you have to do is hold out your arms and little hands will soon be wrapped around you. Little kids are the definition of endless love.

Welcome to the world Baby J, I can’t wait to meet you.

I love you already.

Love, Auntie

 

UPDATE: 

Baby J was born November 1st, 2016 at 9:59 am weighing 6 pounds 15 ounces at 20 inches long. He has already wrapped me around his little fingers. 

Leave a Reply

