Pets · Reviews

PetGiftBox Review

For about a year now, I’ve been receiving monthly boxes in the mail from PetGiftBox for my pup. I started ordering from this site because Groupon offered a sale, instead of paying the higher monthly fee of around $18 you could buy a month order code for $9. I started off with one month because after reading some reviews I found many that the company was charging and not sending the boxes. I was hesitant and nervous and considered simply ordering the box from the more well known brand BarkBox. However, I have had no issues with PetGiftBox since signing up.

I started purchasing these boxes after my first dog passed away, leaving my pup Ben without a friend. I went off to college and felt to replace myself and his friend Bruno, I would purchase monthly boxes for him to enjoy while I’m away. (Logical right?)

Anyways, what started out as just a test sample, ended up being a subscription for about a year now. Ben (my pup) recognizes the box and even tries to open it himself. He carries it around with pride and joy prancing around. Then he finds the treats and toys inside! He picks his favorite and carries it around with him everywhere.

Ben is a large, 3 year old black lab so finding toys that are durable and hard to tear apart is hard. Usually the toys in the boxes are stuffed animals with squeakers (which Ben hates and rips out immediately). However, after the squeaker is gone, he doesn’t really rip the toys up that much. They may have some rips and tears however, they usually end up lasting a few months.

Each month, the box contains usually two toys, mainly stuffed toys with squeakers, but not always! It also holds a couple packages of treats. The thing that I like about PetGiftBox is that they give you toys, treats, and something for the owner (pet candle, car pet scent eliminator, emergency stickers that say what animals are in the house if anything happened, etc). They send different items every month (I’ve actually never received the same thing more than once). On the website, when ordering, they also provide an option to order boxes for cats. They ask for the animals name, gender and size so that the box is completely tailored to the size of the animal. I usually receive my boxes in the middle of the month, left sitting right on my door step.

Lastly, since I am a college student on a budget, there are times when I can’t afford to pay the monthly fee for the box. The website allows you to pause your subscription of cancel it (even before the length of the subscription is over). The flexibility and control you have over when you pay and receive boxes is very convent and helpful when you are on a budget. Groupon offers the deals till every once in a while and when I find them I buy them, pause my subscriptions and pay a lesser fee.

I would definitely recommend trying out PetGiftBox if you’ve been wanting to invest in BarkBox, but can’t afford the commitment and high price. My pup is always excited to see the box sitting at the steps and loves his new toys!IMG_0320.JPG

Leave a Reply

