C & C · dating · Relationships

It’s a choice.

A year and a half,

18 months,

546 days,

13,104 hours,

786,240 minutes,

47,174,400 seconds,

Filled with countless adventures, kisses, and memories.

As you could probably guess, today marks one and a half years since I started dating my best friend. When I first met my boyfriend about 20 months ago, I wasn’t expecting a relationship. I was a freshman in college and for the first time in a while, I wanted to just enjoy life and make friends, focusing on myself and my grades in school. After all, they say college relationships never work out, right? I certainly wasn’t focused on finding a boyfriend. But, everything happens for a reason, right? And sometimes the best things in life are ones that you don’t expect will happen in the first place.

It’s currently 11:53 at night, I’m on Skype with that same boy I met in December, twenty months ago, as I was making cookies in the dorm kitchen with some of my friends. Have you ever met someone and felt immediately attracted to them? And I don’t mean attracted in a physical way. I mean, attracted as in something was destined to happen and that’s why they walked in that door. That’s why you happened to be making cookies at one in the morning. That’s why you weren’t in your dorm building, but instead across campus. Well this was one of those moments.

For the first time in years, I was single, flirty, and having fun enjoying whatever life threw at me. When he walked in that door, a guy I started to talk to a couple days prior had just left. What great timing. We made the cookies and he left. A few days later, I met my friend in a dining hall to get a smoothie with the other boy I was talking to. She brought along her friend, the boy we had made cookies with just a few days before. The second those two boys were in a room together was another one of those meant-to-be, destined moments. I actually ended up sending a snap chat to Squishy of the boy I was crushing on. Can you guess which one it was? Cookie boy or Smoothie boy?

If you answered Cookie boy, you guessed right! I invited them up to my dorm room and after a while, the smoothie boy left (thank goodness). And when Cookie boy left, he forgot his phone. Spoiler alert: I found out months later that he forgot it on purpose! He had left it there so that he would have an excuse to come back, and get my number. Except, instead I ended up asking him to add me on snapchat. During winter break, we snap chatted occasionally.

When we moved back to school in January, I had put in a room change request so that I would be able to room with my best friend. But it also happened to be right down the hall from Cookie boy. From there, the rest is predictable.

We hung out, pretty much every day, since we lived right down the hall. We ate meals together, did homework together, played monopoly at one in the morning, etc. All of the normal college things. This happened for about a month before we had officially started dating.

This boy has been there with me through everything since our freshman year of college. We are now going into our junior year. Of course we’ve had some bumps in the road along the way, but something magical made everything come together in the end. Every relationship has little hiccups. Every relationship has its share of good and bad times. We have not been some miraculous exception to that. However, we have chosen to try and work to get through whatever get thrown at us.

Relationships are not so much destined to be with some happily ever after. There’s no such thing as fairytales.  But there is such thing as choosing to be with each other even at the worst times. Relationships are commitments to each other. Commitments to care about each other and love each other through the good and bad times.

I think that this is the reason why Cody and I were “destined to be together”. For if I didn’t have him, I wouldn’t have had the support, motivation and love that got me through the past year and a half. And I have definitely been there for him in the times when he has needed me. It’s a choice. It’s a commitment. He has definitely come to be my best friend and my boyfriend.

And yes, it is love.

P.S. College relationships work if you want them too.

Leave a Reply

